If you are involved in a car accident in Tennessee, you must report it to the police. How soon you have to report it depends on the severity of the accident. Keep reading to learn more about the time limits and what can happen if you don’t report a car crash.
What are the rules about reporting a car accident?
If you are involved in a car accident, you have to report it to the police within 24 hours. This is regardless of who was at fault for the accident. You can do this by calling 911 or the Tennessee Highways Patrol desk and requesting an officer to come to the accident scene.
You can also file a report in person if a THP officer is nearby, but you must first collect sufficient evidence before leaving the scene. You will need evidence during insurance claims or in court.
Statute of limitation for reporting car accidents in Tennessee
There are statutes of limitations, or time limits, for reporting car accidents in Tennessee. For most accidents, you have up to one year from the date of the accident to file a report. If someone was injured or killed in the accident, you have up to three years. Hit-and-run accidents have a time limit of 20 days.
When should you inform the insurance company?
You should also inform your insurance company about the accident within 24 hours. However, some insurance companies have their own internal deadlines for reporting accidents. If you’re not sure about your insurance company’s deadline, call them and ask.
Failure to report a car accident to the police could lead to fines of up to $500, and the other driver may have the upper hand in a lawsuit. Your insurance company can also deny you a claim, so make sure to report it as soon as possible. It’s the law, and it could save you a lot of hassle and money down the road.